Ready to vote?

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles

By MIKE WEST, Courier Editor

Guess what? This Thursday (Aug. 7) is election day.

Voting will take place at all five Cannon County precincts from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Those voting places are:
1. Westside (West Side School)
2. Auburntown (Auburntown Community Building)
2. Pleasant Ridge (Woodbury Grammar School Gym)
2. Short Mountain 2 (Short Mountain School)
2. Gassaway (Gassaway Fire Hall)
3. Woodland (Woodland School)
4. Eastside (East Side School)
4. Short Mountain 4 (Short Mountain School)
5. Woodbury (Woodbury Grammar School Gym)

Remember, you must be registered prior to the election to vote. You must also bring a photo ID to the polls.
As a voter, if you have not changed your name or address with the Cannon County Election Office, you will have to follow fail-safe procedures and may experience a delay in voting and may also be required to go to a different polling place.

A campaign free zone will be enforced at the polls. The boundary is 100 feet.
The counting board will convene at the Election Office on Election Day.

Following the vote, candidates and supporters will gather on the Courthouse lawn to hear the results which will be broadcast by WBRY radio.

Remember voting will be conducted in the state Republican and Democratic Primaries and in the Cannon County General Election.

In the General Election, voters will cast ballots in 29 different Cannon County races:

County Executive: Anna Pittman, David J. Faulkner and Mike Gannon.

County Commissioner First District: Mark Barker, James H. Gibbs, Russell W. Paschal and James Russell Reed.

County Commissioner Second District: Karen A. Ashford, Jamie N. Byford, Robert “Todd” Hollandsworth and Billy Nokes.

County Commissioner Third District: Jim Bush and James M. Holloway Jr.

County Commissioner Fourth District: Brent D. Bush, Debby Harvey, Steven C. Higgins, Kevin Mooneyham, Tony Neal, Forrest Pitcock and Glenn Steakley.

County Commissioner Fifth District: Stephen A. Brown, Chris Brushaber, Gregory A. Fauls, Chuck Holt, Richie Hunter, Jim Jones, Adam K. Melton and Andy Parker.

Sheriff: Brad Hall and Darrell Young.

Circuit Court Clerk: Hayden Bryson and Lynne D. Foster,

County Clerk: Bobby Smith and Matt Teply.

Register of Deeds: Charlie Harrell, Sandy Hollandsworth, Greg Mitchell and Anita Parton.

County Trustee: Norma B. Knox, Van Nichols and Shirley Young.

General Sessions Judge: Susan Melton and Dale Peterson.

Road Commissioner, Zone 1: Barry Burt, Edward Sissom, Bill Sparkman and Danny Vythoulkas.
Road Commissioner, Zone 2: Doyle Duke.
Road Commissioner, Zone 3: James Hancock and Bobby Taylor.

School Board, 2nd District: Chris Blackburn.
School Board, 5th District: Tony C. Stinnett and Shelley Walkup.

Constable, 2nd District, Charles Nokes.

Several posts within the 16th Judicial District are also up for election:

Circuit Judge, Division 1: Jeffrey Peach and Mark Rogers.
Circuit Judge, Division 2: Nathan Nichols and David Bragg
Circuit Judge, Division 3: Keith Siskin.
Circuit Judge, Division 4: Royce Taylor.
Chancellor: Howard Wilson
District Attorney General: Jennings H. Jones
Public Defender: Gerald Melton



Read more from:
Aug 7, Election
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: