MTEMC’s Annual Meeting Set For Aug. 18

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles

MURFREESBORO - Middle Tennessee Electric’s Annual Meeting will be held Aug. 18 at Embassy Suites Hotel and Conference Center located next to The Avenue shopping center. Prize registration for members starts at 7:30 a.m. and ends at 10 a.m. The meeting’s business session begins at 9.

“This year’s meeting will feature two contested board of directors seats,” MTEMC President Frank Jennings said. “So there will be voting by machine both in the local offices the week prior to the Annual Meeting and at the Annual Meeting.”

The meeting gives members an opportunity to sit in on a business session, receive a free health screening and be eligible for a number of prizes, including a 2007 Ford Ranger extended cab pickup truck.  

As always, the Miss Middle Tennessee Electric beauty pageant is part of the day’s events. Twenty-six contestants ages 16-21 will compete for the title. The winner will have her choice of $1,000 cash or a trip to Washington part of the Rural Electric Youth Tour. The first and second runners-up also earn prizes.

As part of its bylaws, MTEMC has held a members’ meeting every year since the not-for-profit cooperative was organized in 1936 by a group of Middle Tennessee citizens. The organization has grown to become one of the largest electrical cooperatives in the country. MTEMC has a membership of approximately 190,000 residences, businesses and industries in Rutherford, Williamson, Wilson, Cannon and surrounding counties.

Members who can’t make it to the meeting but who wish to vote on the Board of Directors and Nominating Committee candidates may vote at their local offices. Voting at the Franklin, Lebanon, Murfreesboro, Mt.Juliet, Smyrna and Woodbury offices will be Aug. 13-17 from 8 a.m. through 4:30 p.m.                   

For more information, call  MTEMC’s Communications and Member Services Department at (615) 494-1545.

Cannon County special interest items

Nominating Committee candidates for District 3 (CannonCounty)

Melodie Daniel

The nominating committee is the group that nominates candidates for the following year’s vacant board of directors positions.

Miss MTEMC contestants from District 3 (CannonCounty), their parents and sponsors

Natalie Peay, daughter of Joey and Charlotte Peay of Readyville. Sponsored by the Rutherford County Farm Bureau Women.

Read more from:
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: