Four seeking county mayor's post

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles

Courier Sports Editor

Four candidates have qualified for the County Executive race in the August General Election.
Voters will chose between incumbent Mike Gannon, Boyd Gentry and David Faulkner, who are all running as Independents; and Anna Pittman, who is the only candidate on the ballot for the Republican Primary, May 6.

There is no Democratic Primary.

Other than write-in candidates no other hopefuls will be in the hunt.

While not drawing a large field, Sheriff Darrell Young will be opposed by Brad Hall. They are the only two candidates to qualify for the race for sheriff after five candidates were in the mix in 2010.

Four candidates will be seeking Register of Deeds which will not include incumbent Debbie Morris, who has opted not to run.

Sandy Hollandsworth, a 15-year veteran of the office, will run for Register of Deeds, along with Greg Mitchell, Anita Parton and Charlie Harrell.

The office of Trustee also will not include an incumbent as Wayne Prater will not run for reelection. Three candidates have will vie for the position, including Norma Knox, Van Nichols and Shirley Young. Knox ran for the position in 2010 and is a current employee in the Trustee’s office.

General Sessions Judge Susan Melton will be opposed by Woodbury City Attorney Dale Peterson.

Incumbent Bobby Smith is running for reelection in the County Court Clerk race. Smith will be opposed by Matt Teply, who ran in 2010.

There are also only two candidates for Circuit Court Clerk. Incumbent Lynne D. Foster will be opposed by Hayden Bryson.

Four candidates seek two spots for County Commissioner, District 1. Voters will chose between James Russell Reed, Russell W. Paschal, Mark Barker and Jim Gibbs.

There are also four candidates seeking two spots for District 2. They include Todd Hollandsworth, Jamie Byford, Karen Ashford and Billy Nokes.

Jim Bush and Jamie Holloway have qualified for the County Commissioner District 3 race. Five candidates have thrown their hat into the ring for the District 4 County Commission seats. They include Brent Bush, Debby Harvey, Clint Higgins, Kevin Mooneyham, Tony Neal, Forrest Pitcock and Glenn Steakley.

Eight candidates qualified for the District 5 County Commissioner race. They include, Stephen Brown, Chris Brushaber, Gregory A. Fauls, Richie Hunter, Chuck Holt, Jim Jones, Andy Parker and Adam Melton.

Barry Burt, Bill Sparkman, Edward Sissom and Danny Vythoulkas are running for Zone 1 Road Commissioner. Doyle Duke is running for Road Commissioner Zone 2, and Bobby Taylor and James Hancock are contending for the Road Commissioner Zone 3 position.

Most of the candidates in the May 6 Republican Primary are running unopposed. In fact, Jennings Jones and Charles G. Ward are on the ballot for District Attorney 16th Judicial District. Gerald Melton and Andy Brunelle are running for Public Defender 16th Judicial District.

All other candidates are unopposed. They include, Jeffery L. Peach, Circuit Court Judge 16th Judicial District Div. 1; Howard W. Wilson, Chancellor 16th Judicial District; Nathan Nichols, Circuit Court Judge 16th Judicial District Division II; and Mitchell Keith Siskin, Circuit Court Judge 16th Judicial District Division III.

Charles Nokes is the only candidate for Constable District 2. Mae Beavers is unopposed for the State Senate seat 17th District and Mark A. Pody is on the ballot for House of Representatives, 46th District.

Royce Taylor (Circuit Judge 16th Judicial District Division IV), David Bragg (Circuit Court Judge 16th Judicial District Division II), Mark Rogers (Circuit Court Judge 16th Judicial District Division I) and Pat Fields (Republican State Executive Committeewoman, District 17) also qualified.

Read more from:
2014 election, county executive
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: