Clock Winding Down To Thursday’s Election

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles

While 577 Cannon County voters took part in Early and Absentee Voting the past two weeks, that still leaves thousands who have not cast their ballots in the Republican and Democratic Primary and the County General Election.

They will have the opportunity to do so Thursday when polls throughout the county are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Dorinda Mankin will be the interim Administrator of Elections (AOE) when they go to the polls for Thursday’s election.

Mankin was unanimously appointed interim AOE through the certification of the November election by the Cannon County Election Commission during an emergency meeting July 23.

Candidates for three school board seats will be decided. Bruce Daniel (District 3 and Randy Gannon (District 4) are running unopposed. Incumbent Shannon Davenport is being opposed by Nathan Sanders for the District 1 seat.

Incumbent Donald Preston is being opposed by Keith Morris and John Basinger for Property Assessor.

Tony Neal and Rebekah Parton are running for County Commissioner in District 4.

Jerry Pelham, James Hancock and Doyle Duke are on the ballot for Cannon County Road Commissioners.

At the state level, Mark Pody is running unopposed in the Republican Primary for the 46th Tennessee House District seat. 

Republicans Diane Black and Lou Ann Zelenik are in opposition for the Tennessee 6th District Congressional seat. Scott Beasley is running as an Independent.

Several names are on the ballot for the U.S. Senate.

Mankin previously worked in the Cannon County Election Commission Office but she quit when she was passed over for the interim position in favor of former AOE Mary Lynn Bush. The position became vacant when Stan Dobson was terminated by a 3-2 vote of the Cannon County Election Commission.

Bush and Cannon County Election Commission Chairman Lindbergh Dennis resigned July 22, creating two vacancies. Prior to that Louise Mayo (R) was removed from the local election commission by the State Election Commission. Corey Davenport was named to replace Mayo and attended the July 23 Emergency Meeting.

Dennis’ replacement has yet to be named by the State Election Commission, leaving Cannon County with four election commissioners as Thursday’s election approaches.

“I am going to do the best I can to make sure the voters are represented,” Mankin said. “I am going to do the best job I can.”

Mankin said her knowledge of the office and being current on state election laws will make for a more smooth transition.

“I would think my knowledge of the situation will help make for a much smoother transition,” Mankin said. “I know the office, our poll workers and I am current on state laws so I believe it should be a good transition and we can have a good election for our citizens. I am glad to be back.”

Read more from:
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: