United Way elects new directors

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles
  United Ways of Tennessee (UWTN), the association of 38 United Ways in the state, has elected its board of directors for 2013, including several new additions and key officers. 

Pat Murphy, Plant Manager for General Mills in Murfreesboro, was elected to serve as a board member.  "We are very pleased to have Pat Murphy as a new at-large board member," said Bryce Haugsdahl, UWTN Board Chair 2010-2012.  "He is not only a Tocqueville donor, but also a long-term advocate for the United Way system. General Mills has been recognized nationally by United Way, and Pat's leadership has been invaluable both within his plant and on the United Way of Rutherford and Cannon Counties' board."

Murphy has served as the Plant Manager in Murfreesboro for seven and a half years, and has been with General Mills for a total of 24 years. He has volunteered with several United Way operations throughout his career, including service as the Board Chair for United Way of Grayson County in Texas. Locally, Murphy has served on the United Way of Rutherford and Cannon Counties' (UWRCC) board since 2008, including leadership roles such as Campaign Chair and Board Chair.

Murphy's election to the UWTN board follows the conclusion of service from Don Witherspoon, also affiliated with the United Way of Rutherford and Cannon Counties as a Tocqueville Society member and former UWRCC board member. Don and his wife, Hanna, have a UWRCC award named in their honor, the Witherspoon Society Award, which is bestowed upon those who have exemplified United Way's high ideals of commitment to community through giving, advocating, and volunteering.

"We are saddened to see Don's term come to an end of the United Way of Tennessee board," said Brian Hercules, President and CEO of UWRCC. "Don and his wife, Hanna, have invested an incredible amount of time, energy and resources into United Way and their spirit of giving and community at such a level is extremely rare."

Hercules went on to say "I am confident that Pat Murphy will continue to represent United Way's values and mission in the utmost positive manner. We are honored to have him continue his involvement with United Way in this leadership role."

Other newly elected positions to the UWTN board include: Lester Lattany, President and CEO of United Way of Washington County, as 2013 Board Chair; Dawn Holley, Executive Director of United Way of Bedford County, as Board Chair-Elect; and Eddie Lee Herndon, President and CEO of United Way of West Tennessee, as Chair of Governance and Nominations. Jimmy Stone from Oak Ridge National Lab was elected to serve as at-large executive committee member and Matt Ryerson, President and CEO of Bradley County, was also elected as a board member.

Other UWTN Board members continuing their terms include: Gary Bowman, Treasurer; Judy Fenton, Secretary; Penny Aviotti, Eric Dewey, Eva Dillard, Commissioner Raquel Hatter, Ben Landers, CeeGee McCord, and Linda O'Neal.  Other UWTN board members who will have completed their terms at the end of 2012 include:  Mary Freeman, Brian Hercules, Rick Morrow, and Wendy Peay.
Read more from:
directors, United Way
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: