United Way Announces Grand Total From 2009-2010 Campaign

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles
The United Way of Rutherford and Cannon Counties announced today that $2,339,460.19 was secured in pledges during the 2009-2010 fundraising campaign. The announcement was made at the annual Community Celebration, which awards top-fundraisers in a variety of categories and recognizes achievements during the campaign. Over 400 people attended the event, which was sponsored by Regions Bank, Alexander Automall, and The Daily News Journal.

The funds raised will benefit the 45 partner agencies of the United Way of Rutherford and Cannon Counties.. A panel of 90 volunteers works directly with the agencies to make recommendations to the United Way Board of Directors as to the amount each agency should be allocated. Items taken into consideration include additional sources of funding, community impact, and outcomes as gathered from each agency. Approximately one-third of Rutherford and Cannon county residents (93,000 individuals) were directly impacted by a United Way agency last year.

Individuals recognized during the Community Celebration included this year’s United Way Loaned Executives, which are employees from various companies that are loaned to United Way for assistance during the campaign while the employer continues to pay salary and expenses. The 2009-2010 Loaned Executive roster consisted of:

· Josh Anderson – General Mills

· Danny Bertotti – Atmos Energy

· Lori Caldwell – Bridgestone La Vergne Plant

· Kara Greer - Bridgestone LaVergne Plant

· Kajeen Goetz Irwin – State Farm

· Tim Johnson – General Mills

· Doug Kutella – General Mills

· Steve Lanham – First Bank

· John Leonard – Bridgestone La Vergne Plant

· Greg Pogue – The Daily News Journal

· Lori Simmons – State Farm

Media partners, recognized for their contributions in marketing and communications pertaining to United Way over the past year, included

· The Daily News Journal (Rutherford County)

· The Murfreesboro Post (Rutherford County)

· WGNS Radio (Rutherford County)

· WBRY Radio (Cannon County)

· Cannon Courier (Cannon County)

The top ten campaigns according to total funds raised were also announced during the event, and the following were recognized (in ascending order):

10. Heritage Farms Dairy - $42,598.80

9. Middle Tennessee State University - $52,734.28

8. Yates Services - $59,443.08

7. Bridgestone La Vergne Plant/USW Local 1055 - $71,998.36

6. Ingram Content Group - $90,407.03

5. State Farm Insurance - $99,476.10

4. Nissan - $131,250.00

3. Rutherford County Government and Schools - $170,037.08

2. Publix - $239,264.00

1. General Mills - $557,442.00

United Way recognized the best overall campaigns in each category, determined on total funds raised, special events held during the campaign, and overall development and depth of campaign. The following were recognized as best overall campaigns:

· Best Overall Major Firms Campaign – State Farm Insurance

· Best Overall Industry Campaign – The Daily News Journal

· Best Overall Professionals Campaign – Guaranty Trust

· Best Overall Health Services Campaign – Middle Tennessee Medical Center

· Best Overall Public Service Campaign – Rutherford County Government and Schools

· Best Overall Retail Campaign – Publix Supermarkets

· Best Overall New Campaign – Asurion

· Best Overall Company Campaign – General Mills

· Best High School Campaign – Smyrna High School

· Best Middle School Campaign – Christiana Middle School

· Best Elementary School Campaign – David Youree Elementary

· Best Overall School Campaign – Blackman High School

The Witherspoon Society Award, which is named after Don and Hanna Witherspoon, recognizes outstanding service to United Way and is awarded to Tocqueville-level donors who go above and beyond in their commitment and support for United Way. This year’s recipients were Drs. Russ and Sherry Galloway.

The remaining individuals recognized during the Community Celebration were the Campaign Cabinet. The cabinet assists with the overall planning and implementation of the United Way campaign. Andrew Oppmann served as the Campaign Chairman, and committee members included:

· Jeff Craig

· Doug Combs

· Jenese Holland

· John Hood

· Chuck Lewis

· Ben McCloud

· Pat Murphy

· Cathi Rowlison

· Liz Rhea

The final announcement made during the event was that of the Chase the Cars Give-Away. Any donor who pledged $300.00 or more during the campaign became eligible to win their choice of one of two vehicles (a Chevy Aveo or Ford Focus) donated by the Alexander Automall. For the 2009-2010 campaign, 1,274 donors were eligible for the give-away. The winner of the vehicle will be announced through a reverse raffle on March 16th at Alexander Ford-Lincoln-Mercury.

Following today’s Community Celebration, planning will begin for the 2010-2011 United Way campaign, which will officially kick-off in late summer. The 2010-2011 Campaign Chairman is Pat Murphy from General Mills.

The United Way of Rutherford and Cannon Counties is located at 615 Memorial Boulevard, Suite 200 in Murfreesboro. For more information about the Loaned Executive program, United Way sponsorship opportunities, or general information regarding United Way, please call (615) 893-7303 or visit www.uwrutherford.org.
Read more from:
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: