Some Local Office Holders Face Fines Of Up To $10,000

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles
The Cannon County Election Office has received a list from the State of Tennessee of local office holders who, according to their records, have not filed a Statement of Interests as of Tuesday, January 26, 2010.

The Statement of Interest is required to be filed by all local office holders by January 31, 2010. Failure to file a Statement of Interests can result in a civil penalty assessment of up to $10,000.

The Election Office wants to encourage all county and city government office holders to make sure they file their Statement of Interest by January 31.

(NOTE: The local election office chose not to release the names it received from the state as they were unsure if doing so legal)

In other election news, two people have picked up petitions to qualify for the seats on the Cannon County Commission and three for road commissioner positions over the last few days.

Tony Neal is seeking to become one of the two 4th District commissioners, while Jim Bush is vying for a 3rd District seat.

Those seeking to qualify for the road commission are:

Jerry Pelham, Road Commissioner, Zone 1
Doyle Duke, Road Commissioner Zone 2
James Hancock, Road Commissioner Zone #3

Also hoping to have their name on the Aug. 5 ballot is Forrest Pitcock, District 5 Constable.

So far a total of 50 persons had requested and received petitions from the Election Commission Office to run in the General Election in August. In addition to those previously listed, their names and the offices they are attempting to qualify for are:

• Kim Bailey, County Executive.

• Mike Gannon, County Executive.

• Rebekah Parton, County Executive.

• Ronnie Pittman, County Executive.

• Dotty Duggin, County Trustee.

• James Maxwell, County Trustee.

• Michael D. Nichols, County Trustee.

• Nolan Travis Jr., for County Trustee.

• Brenda Witty, County Trustee.

• Bobby Smith, County Court Clerk.

• Chris Blackburn, School Board, 2nd District.

• Roy Parker, School Board, 5th District.

• Howard Mike Grosch, County Sheriff.

• Billy Nichols, County Sheriff.

• Darrell Young, County Sheriff.

• Clarence Mark Barker, County Commission, 1st District.

• Marilyn Bloodworth, County Commission, District 1.

• Nathan Nichols, County Commission, 1st District.

• Anna Pittman, County Commission, 1st District.

• James Russell Reed, County Commission, 1st District.

• Karen Ashford, County Commission, 2nd District.

• Todd Hollandsworth, County Commission, 2nd District.

• Kevin George, County Commission, 3rd District.

• Greg Rigsby, County Commission, 3rd District

• Neal Applebaum, County Commission, 4th District

• Clint Higgins, for County Commissioner, 4th District.

• Joe Wimberly, County Commission, 4th District.

• Gregory Fauls, County Commission, 5th District

• James Jones, County Commission, 5th District.

• Kevin Mooneyham, County Commission, 5th District

• Bob Stoetzel, County Commission, District 5.

• Debbie Morris, Register of Deeds.

• Greg S. Mitchell, Register of Deeds.

• Lynne Foster, Circuit Court Clerk.

• Donnie Morris, Circuit Court Clerk

• Jim Gibbs, Constable 1st District.

• Russell Paschal, Constable, District 1.

• Tom Ganoe, Constable, 2nd District.

• Kevin Duncan, Constable, 3rd District.

• Adam Melton, Constable, 5th District.

• Jason Pittman, Road Commissioner, District 2.

The General Election is scheduled for Aug. 5. The deadline to turn in qualifying petitions is April 1 at noon.

The Election Commission Office issued a clarification to the effect that persons who are seeking signatures for their petitions running for school board, county commissioner or road commission must obtain signatures must obtain signatures from persons who live in the district seat for which they are running.

The address of the Election Commission's new site is
Read more from:
Comment   Email   Print
Members Opinions:
January 28, 2010 at 6:13am
If there are individuals who have not filed by 2/1 and the names are not released it will be a cover up by the Election Commission--It was foolish to even mention this prior to that date. The CC should press for those names outstanding as of 2/1.
January 28, 2010 at 3:26pm
Apparently it would have been foolish not to, as the election office reports most if not all of those who had not filed did so today.
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: