No Change In Cannon's Commission Districts

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles
Even though the 2010 Census showed Cannon County had a population increase of 7.6 percent since the 2000 count, there won't be any change to the county's voting districts.

The Cannon County Commission voted unanimously Tuesday night to adopt a 10-year Reapportment/Redisticting Plan for the county.

Both federal and state law mandate reapportionment and redistricting. In the most technical sense, reapportionment refers to the allocation of political seats among units and is most commonly used in reference to the distribution of congressional seats among the 50 states.

Redistricting refers to the delineation of boundaries for political units, such as state legislative and county commission districts. According to T.C.A. 5-1-111 and Article VII, Section I of the Tennessee Constitution, county governments in Tennessee are required to redistrict by January 1, 2012.

Cannon County is in a unique situation this year with redistricting, as the deviation between the county commission districts, that has occurred between the last federal census, is so insignificant that the county commission can choose to adopt the same commission districts as it did in 2000.

Cannon County is one of only two counties (out of 95) in the State of Tennessee that is able to do this due to the lack of change in population between the commission districts.

The 2010 Census showed Cannon County with a total population of 13,801. Broken down by commission districts, District 1 has 2841 residents (an increase of 81 from the 2000 Census), District 2 has 2720 (a decrease of 40), District 3 has 2787 (an increase of 27), District 4 has 2821 (an increase of 61) and District 5 has 2632 (a decrease of 128).

What it basically means is that the boundary lines of the county's five commission districts will be the same as they have been since the 2000 Census.

District 1 encompasses the Westside voting precinct. District 2 voting precincts are Auburntown, Gassaway, Pleasant Ridge and Short Mountain (2). District 3 in the soutnern end of the county is the Woodland precinct. District 4 represents Eastside and Short Mountain precincts. District 5 is all of the Town of Woodbury.

The reapportment plan for Cannon County provides for two commissioners in each of the county's five districts. All members of the Cannon Comission will continue to be elected at large within the district wherein in candidate seeks election. The two candidates receiving the greatest number of votes in each district will be elected.
Read more from:
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: