MTEMC's Annual Meeting Set For Aug. 20

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles
From left are Mary Margaret Harris, Madilyn Peay and Brittney O’Neal.
Middle Tennessee Electric’s Annual Meeting will be held Aug. 20 at Embassy Suites Murfreesboro - Hotel and Conference Center located next to The Avenue shopping center. Prize registration for members starts at 7:30 a.m. and ends at 10 a.m. The meeting’s business session begins at 9.

“This year’s meeting carries special significance for our cooperative and our members,” MTEMC President Frank Jennings said. “This marks our 75th year of providing power to our communities, and we plan to show a special video at the meeting to commemorate our cooperative’s 75 years.”

The meeting will feature the crowning of a new Miss MTEMC and include a used truck giveaway; however, the voting for the Board of Directors and Nominating Committee will be done a little differently this year.

“Since no director or nominating committee petitions were submitted before the deadline,” Jennings said, “there will be no contested elections this year. This eliminates the need for voting by machine both in the district offices the week prior to the Annual Meeting and at the Annual Meeting. However, there will be a voice vote at the meeting confirming the candidates as elected.”

The meeting also gives members an opportunity to sit in on a business session, receive a free health screening and be eligible for a number of door prizes, including a 2005 Chevrolet Colorado extended cab pickup truck.

As always, the Miss Middle Tennessee Electric beauty pageant is part of the day’s events. Twenty-seven contestants ages 16-21 will compete for the title. The winner will have her choice of $1,000 cash or a trip to Washington D.C. as part of the Rural Electric Youth Tour, valued at $1,200. The first and second runners-up also earn prizes.

As part of its bylaws, MTEMC has held a members’ meeting every year since the not-for-profit cooperative was organized in 1936 by a group of Middle Tennessee citizens. The organization has grown to become one of the largest electrical cooperatives in the country. MTEMC has a membership of approximately 185,000 residences, businesses and industries in Rutherford, Williamson, Wilson, Cannon and surrounding counties.

Nominating Committee candidates
for District 3 (Cannon County)

Melodie Daniel

The nominating committee is the group that nominates candidates for the following year’s vacant board of directors positions.

Miss MTEMC contestants
from District 3 (Cannon County), their parents and sponsors

Madilyn Peay, daughter of Joey and Charlotte Peay of Readyville. Sponsored by the Rutherford County Farm Bureau Women.

Brittney O’Neal, daughter of  Dennis and Melanie O’Neal of Readyville. Sponsored by the Readyville FCE Club.  

Mary Margaret Harris, daughter of Joseph and Vicki Harris of Woodbury. Sponsored by the Cannon County 4-H Club.
Read more from:
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: