MTEMC annual meeting on Aug. 10

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles

Middle Tennessee Electric's Annual Meeting will be held Aug. 10 at Embassy Suites Murfreesboro - Hotel and Conference Center, next to The Avenue shopping center. Prize registration for members starts at 7:30 a.m. and ends at 10 a.m. The meeting's business session begins at 9 a.m.

The meeting will follow a similar agenda as in previous years and feature the crowning of a new Miss MTEMC and include a used truck giveaway; however, the voting for the Board of Directors and Nominating Committee will be done a little differently.

"The directors' election is uncontested this year," MTEMC President Chris Jones said. "Aside from the four incumbent directors up for election, no other candidate emerged through the Nominating Committee or through the petition process. While this eliminates the need for voting by machine, there will be a voice vote at the meeting, simply confirming the candidates as elected."

Andy Walker is Nominating Committee candidate for District 3 (Cannon County)
The nominating committee is the group that nominates candidates for the following year's vacant board of directors positions.

The meeting also gives members an opportunity to sit in on a business session, receive a free health screening and be eligible for a number of door prizes, including a 2001 Ford Ranger extended-cab pickup truck.
As always, the Miss Middle Tennessee Electric beauty pageant is part of the day's events. Thirty contestants ages 16-21 will compete for the title. The winner will have her choice of $1,000 cash or a trip to Washington D.C. as part of the Rural Electric Youth Tour, valued at $1,200. The first and second runners-up also earn prizes.

Miss MTEMC contestants from District 3 (Cannon County), their parents and sponsors include:
Katylyn Nicole Arnold, daughter of Ronnie and Charlotte Arnold of Bradyville. Sponsored by the Cannon County High School Lioness Club.

Taylor Nelms, daughter of Mike and Becky Vassar and Jeff Nelms of Woodbury. Sponsored by the Cannon County High School Lioness Club.

As part of its bylaws, MTEMC has held a members' meeting every year since the not-for-profit cooperative was organized in 1936 by a group of Middle Tennessee citizens. The organization has grown to become one of the largest electrical cooperatives in the country. MTEMC has a membership of approximately 195,000 residences, businesses and industries in Rutherford, Williamson, Wilson, Cannon and surrounding counties.
Board of Directors candidates to fill vacant seat for District 3 (Cannon County)

Charles H. Bowman, a fence contractor and farmer, is a 30-year MTEMC member. He lives in Bradyville with his wife, Cynthia, and they have two children, Christopher and Sara. He is president of Mid-State Livestock Producers, an MTEMC Director, member of the Cannon County Cattleman's Association, president of Cannon County Young Farmers and Homemakers, vice chairman of Rutherford Farmers Co-op and a member of the Woodbury Church of Christ. 

For more information, call MTEMC's Communications and Member Services Department at (615) 494-1545.

Read more from:
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: