Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available To Cannon Workers

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles
NASHVILLE - Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) unemployment benefits are now available for workers in Cannon, Giles, and Marshall counties as a direct result of severe storms, flooding, straight-line winds, and tornadoes that began April 30, 2010, Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development James Neeley reported.

This amends the declaration for the State of Tennessee (FEMA-1909-DR).  According to Commissioner Neeley, persons in these three counties must file their claim for DUA unemployment benefits within 30 days of this announcement.

This brings the total to 45 counties that have been approved for individual and public assistance. While not approved for individual assistance, Pickett County has been approved in the public assistance category. This designation means local governments are eligible to apply for federal assistance for repairing, restoring or replacing damaged public facilities.

“This is a direct line of assistance for those who are out of work due to this natural disaster,” said Commissioner Neeley. “We’ll open this assistance to other counties as they are declared disaster areas by FEMA.” The Department of Labor and Workforce Development administers the program on behalf of the federal government. 

A claim must be filed by a specific deadline relative to their county.

The following counties have a June 7, 2010 deadline for filing for DUA unemployment claims: Benton, Carroll, Cheatham, Crockett, Davidson, Decatur, Dickson, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardeman, Haywood, Henderson, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Madison, Maury, McNairy, Montgomery, Obion, Perry, Rutherford, Shelby, Sumner, Tipton and Williamson.

The following counties have a June 9, 2010 deadline for filing for DUA unemployment claims: Chester, Clay, DeKalb, Hardin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lewis, Macon, Robertson, Smith, Stewart, Trousdale, Wayne and Wilson.

Individuals who are not covered for regular unemployment benefits may qualify for disaster unemployment benefits. This includes self-employed workers and others not covered by the state unemployment insurance program whose source of income has been interrupted by the disaster damage. 
If possible, individuals should have access to their 2009 income tax return, Social Security Number, and any papers with wage and employment information prior to the disaster. 
Weekly DUA benefit amounts are determined in the same way as regular unemployment benefits. Benefits range from $114 to $275 per week and are payable up to 26 weeks after the day of declaration, which was May 4, 2010. DUA benefits will end if unemployment is no longer the direct result of the disaster.
If your unemployment claim is a direct result of the disaster, do not file your unemployment claim by Internet to avoid delays. 

Persons who are unemployed as a result of the severe storms, flooding, straight-line winds, and tornadoes that began April 30, 2010, who need to file an unemployment claim may call (615)253-0800, extension 7599 locally or 1-877-813-0950, extension 7599, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekdays or report in person to one of the following TDLWD Career Centers. Designated Career Centers take claims on Mondays at 8:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.; Thursdays at 8:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.; and Fridays at 8:30 a.m. 
Read more from:
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: