County General Election Day 2010: Polls Open 7 A.M. To 7 P.M.

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles
Today is decision day for Cannon County voters as they will go to the polls to select a number of county officials to serve the next four years.

Polls will open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. However, any voter still in line at any of the nine polling places at 7 p.m. will still have the opportunity to cast their ballot.

Heat could play a role in the turnout, as temperatures will be in the 90s and the heat index over 100. Persons going to the polls are encourage to dress appropriately.

Following a long and sometimes contentious election season, voters will select a county executive, sheriff, trustee, register of deeds, county clerk, 10 county commissioners, two school board members, three road commissioners and five constables to serve four-year terms.

Also on the ballot are state primaries for government, Sixth District U.S. Congressman, state senate and state house of representative.

There are a little over 8,000 registered voters in Cannon County. Nearly 1,800 had voted early or sent in absentee ballots as of last Saturday.

Results of how Cannon County votes will be available on the Tennessee Department of State Web site once they are tabulated. Click here to visit the site.

They will also be posted to the Web site of the Cannon County Election Commission.


District 1 voters vote at West Side School.  

District 2 at the Auburntown Community Building, Woodbury Grammar School Gymnasium, Short Mountain School and Gassaway Community Center.  

District 3 at Woodland School.  

District 4 at East Side School and Short Mountain School.  

District 5 at Woodbury Grammar School Gymnasium.  

Candidates in the local races are:
County Executive: Mike Gannon, Rebekah Hindman Parton, R.O. George Pittman.
Sheriff: Howard Mike Grosch, Jack Miller, Billy H. Nichols, Kenneth D. (Kenny) Wetzel, Darrell Young.  
Trustee: Dotty Duggin, Grant Holt, Norma Knox, Brenda Mullinax, Wayne Prater, Nolan Travis, Brenda Witty.  

County Clerk: Terry Russell Reed, Bobby Smith, Roger Spry, Matt Teply.  

Circuit Court Clerk: Lynne Foster, Larry Sanders.  

Register of Deeds: Greg S. Mitchell, Deborah (Debbie) Morris.  

County Commission (Two in each district):  

1st District: Mark Barker, Marilyn Bloodworth, Nathan Nichols, Anna M. Pittman, James Russell Reed, Shelby (Sam) Stovall.  

2nd District: Karen Ashford, Kimberly Bailey, Todd Hollandsworth, Jimmy Mingle.  

3rd District: JIm Bush, Kevin Dale George, Greg Rigsby.  

4th District: Neal Appelbaum, Clint Higgins, Tony L. Neal, Joe Wimberly.  

5th District: Gregory A. Fauls, James J. (Jim) Jones, Kevin Mooneyham, Bob Stoetzel.  

School Board: 2nd District: Christopher R. (Chris) Blackburn. 5th District: Michael L. Mayfield, William C. Melton, Shelley M. Walkup.  


1st District: Jim Gibbs  

2nd District: Tom Ganoe  

3rd District: Kevin Duncan  

4th District: Forrest Pitcock  

5th District: Adam K. Melton  

Road Commissioner: Zone 1: Jerry W. Pelham. Zone II: Edward Doyle Duke, Jason Pittman. Zone III: Robert (Bob) Eisenmann, James Hancock.

Party On The Square

WBRY AM/FM and the Cannon Courier are sponsoring an election night party on the newly renovated Cannon County square.  The event starts at 7:00 p.m. on election night, August 5th, and runs until the votes are counted.

Any conversation about local elections and the courthouse will bring a story about “waiting for the vote.”  At one time the election commission was located at the courthouse.  The paper ballots were delivered after the polls closed and the paper ballots were counted by hand.  Loud speakers were placed outside the courthouse and the returns were heard as WBFJ (now WBRY) would announce the results.

“With the completion of the courthouse square renovation project, it seems like a good time to begin a new edition of an old tradition,” said Doug Combs, owner/manager of WBRY.  The ballot has a large number of candidates.  However, many believe that all races could be determined at the county level by 9:00pm.

Many candidates are planning their own parties for that night, according to a few local restaurants.  The party on the square will be for everyone, a chance to join your neighbors and friends to hear their votes count.

Popcorn and soft drinks will be provided by WBRY AM/FM and the Cannon Courier.
Read more from:
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: