Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles
By TONY STINNETT/ Courier Sports Editor

Cannon County’s girls basketball team spent the regular season dominating District 8-AA.

Members of the squad dominated the All District 8-AA teams, as well.

Four Lionettes landed on all district teams and two players and Head Coach Michael Dodgen earned specialty awards. Three Lions also earned All-District 8-AA accolades following strong regular-season performances.

Abbey Sissom became the first Lionette to be named District Player of the Year since former Cannon County standout Beth Stewart-Stark earned the honor in 1992. Sissom leads the Lionettes in scoring (22 ppg) and assists.

Ironically, Stewart-Stark is Sissom’s AAU coach.

Additionally, senior Jordan Hollis was named Defensive Player of the Year and earned a spot on the All-District 8-AA third team. Dodgen was voted Coach of the Year for the second time in four seasons. Senior sharpshooter Abby Jakes was voted to the All-District 8-AA team  Jakes is the Lionettes’ second-leading scorer and burst back onto the scene after missing the end of her sophomore campaign and all of her junior season.

Cory Henley earned second-team honors, Jarrett Melton was named to third team and Tanner Larson was named to the All-Defensive team.

Kellie Davis was voted to the all-freshman team and Ashley Basham was named honorable mention.
Read more from:
All-District, basketball, CCHS
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: