State Math Contest Tuesday At MTSU Features CCHS Students

MURFREESBORO – Between 300 and 400 students representing 36 schools from across the region will be heading to MTSU on Tuesday, April 20, for the 54th annual Statewide High School Mathematics Contest.

The MTSU Department of Mathematical Sciences once again will be a regional host for the state event, which will begin at 9 a.m. in the James Union Building’s Tennessee Room. Other state math contests are held at other regional sites.

Drs. Jacob Klerlein and Jinjia Li, math department assistant professors, will be the test center chairs. Those invited will include groups from public elementary, middle and high schools and private schools, Klerlein said. He added that participants may compete in only one of six test divisions: algebra I, geometry, algebra II, statistics, precalculus, calculus and advanced topics.

Invited schools include Barfield Elementary; Blackman High and Middle Schools; Buchanan Elementary; Cannon County High; Cedar Hall School; Central Middle School; Christiana Elementary; Coffee County Central High; Eagleville High School; East and West Middle schools in Tullahoma; Harris Middle School in Shelbyville; Holloway High School; Kittrell Elementary School; Lascassas Elementary School; La Vergne High and Middle schools; McFadden School of Excellence; Oakland and Riverdale High schools; Rock Springs Middle School; Rockvale Elementary School; Roy Waldron School; St. Paul the Apostle Catholic School in Tullahoma; Shelbyville Central High School; Siegel High and Middle schools; Smyrna High and Middle schools; Stewart’s Creek Middle School; Thurman Francis Arts Academy; Tullahoma and Watertown High schools; The Webb School in Bell Buckle; and Westwood Junior High in Manchester.

For more information about the contest, please call 615-898-2669.