School Board Sees Most Change On Election Day

TONY STINNETT, Courier Co-Editor

Almost 1,800 citizens cast votes in the 2012 Cannon County General Election that resulted in only a small amount of change.

Cannon County’s Board of Education will see the most significant change as incumbent Shannon Davenport lost District 1 to Nathan Sanders. Sanders received 250 (63 percent) of the 399 votes cast. Davenport received 37 percent of the vote.

The School Board will have two new members. Bruce Daniel ran opposed for the District 3 seat and picked up 217 of the 219 votes cast in the Woodland area. Daniel takes the place of Cathy Hyatt, who did not run for re-election. Randy Gannon ran unopposed and captured all 318 votes cast for the District 4 seat.

Tony Neal defeated Rebekah Hindman Parton for the County Commission District 4 seat. Neal received 64 percent (277) of the 433 votes cast.

Incumbent Donald Preston won the Assessor of Property race. Preston won 56 percent (971) of the votes cast. Keith Morriss was second with 33 percent and John Basinger was a distant third.

Jerry Pelham, Doyle Duke and James Hancock all won their bids for road commissioner in their respective zone.

In the State Primary, Bob Corker received 80 percent of the 1,074 votes cast for the Republican Primary for the U.S. Senate seat by Cannon County voters. Mark Clayton won the Democratic Primary for the U.S. Senate.

Diane Black distanced Lou Ann Zelenik in the U.S. House 6th Congressional District race. Black received 60.5 percent of the 1,109 votes. Mark Pody received 934 of 939 votes for the Tennessee House 46th Representative District.