Rose seeks to curtail nationwide injunctions

Rose seeks to curtail nationwide injunctions

Congressman John Rose

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Congressman John Rose filed his first bill, H.R.4219, to restore our country's constitutionally-established separation of powers. The bill is an effort to curtail nationwide injunctions, which have the potential to severely restrict new government policies.

"I am proud to file H.R.4219 as my first bill, because nationwide injunctions impact every one of us. It is a harmful trend and a practice that must be stopped," Congressman Rose stated. "Broad injunctions have unfair and detrimental effects. In fact, President Trump has already been impacted by close to 40 nationwide injunctions over the course of his past two years and eight months in office. It is wrong for an administration, Republican or Democrat, to be forced to reaffirm and defend their lawfully-made decisions time and time again."

"The practice of special interest groups seeking out judges who are sympathetic to their causes and through legal battles attempting to stall government policies has plagued the current and past administrations. This unfair maneuvering is often successful because of the potential years-long wait for national injunctions to be adjudicated at the district and circuit court levels. We must curtail this harmful practice, and I am proud to lead the effort in the U.S. House of Representatives."

H.R.4219 allows for a direct appeal of nationwide injunctions to the Supreme Court of the United States, which would reduce wait times for adjudication. H.R.4219 only applies to nationwide injunctions that restrict the enforcement of federal statues, regulations, orders, or a similar authority against a non-party. Congressman Rose filed the legislation on August 30, 2019. It was referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.

Congressman John Rose represents Tennessee's Sixth Congressional District and resides in Cookeville with his wife, Chelsea, and their son, Guy. The Sixth District includes Cannon, Clay, Coffee, Cumberland, DeKalb, Fentress, Jackson, Macon, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, Robertson, Smith, Sumner, Trousdale, White, and Wilson counties as well as portions of Cheatham and Van Buren counties.