Tuesday, May 5, 2015 4:04 pm
You can report litterers by phone or by email to the state of Tennessee.
Call 1-877-8-LITTER or fill out the complaint at http://www.tdot.state.tn.us/environment/beautification/litter.asp
The new Tennessee Litter Law is designed to help reduce some of that trash. Smaller amounts of litter will be punished by a $50 fine, while larger fines are reserved for larger amounts.
Offenders can mail in the payment to the county clerk or plead not guilty and face the officer in court. If the judge finds the offender guilty, the person must pay the $50 and court costs.
Littering, including on the roadside, can carry as much as a $1,500 fine.