Incumbents Win Easily In DTC Election

Incumbent DTC Board of Directors members easily won re-election at the annual meeting of the DeKalb Telephone Cooperative. Customers met at the DeKalb County Fairgrounds on Saturday to fill the three seats and have lunch.

The three exchanges which had Board Members up for election this year were Smithville, Alexandria and Liberty, which includes portions of Cannon County.

Only Liberty member Randy Campbell ran unopposed this year and received a complimentary vote of 741. The results from the two contested races were as follows:

Incumbent Smithville Director Ronnie Garrison defeated challenger Paul Cantrell 766 to 224.

Incumbent Alexandria Director Buck Curtis beat newcomers Elmer Fitts and Donnie Rowland 492 to 264 and 211 respectively.

The elected members began their terms immediately and will serve for 3 years. A total of 1,049 members voted in the 2009 election with 757 voting early and 292 voting on Election Day.