CCHS Players, Coaches Receive District 8-AA Football Awards

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles
Cannon County football players and coaches have collected a number of awards following their District 8-AA championship season.

Quarterback Lee Cooper was named the Co Offensive MVP, along with Livingston Academy's Brannon McCoin.

The Lions' Embry Mills was selected the top defensive lineman in District 8-AA, and Andrew Woodin the No. 1 defensive back. Tight end Heath Simons was also voted the best at his position.

First-year head coach Joel Schrenk garnered Coach of the Year honors in 8-AA, while Eddie Cunningham of CCHS earned the top offensive assistant coach honor.

The Lions finished the regular season with a 6-4 record and earned their first playoff berth since 1995.

The list of 8-AA honorees follows:

MVP - Hunter Poteet - DeKalb
Co Offensive MVP - Lee Cooper, CCHS and Brannon McCoin, L.A.
Defensive MVP - Tyrell Asbury - York
LB - Matt Brown - York
DL - Emby Mills - CCHS
DB - Andrew Woodin - CCHS
OL - Daniel Miller - L.A
RB - Paul Daniels - L.A.
TE - Heath Simons - CCHS
WR - Abram Edwards - Dekalb
QB - Brandon Johnston - Smith
Punter - Caleb Robichaud - Upperman
Kicker - Blake Richmond - Smith
Return Specialist - Anthiny Williams - York
Def. Asst. Coach - Vic Wheaton - York
Off. Asst. Coach - Eddie Cunningham - CCHS
Coach of the Year - Joel Schrenk - CCHS
1st Team from CCHS:

Daniel Woodin
Gabe Walkup
Andy Agee
Bryant Hare
Cesar Wilson
Damon Collette
2nd Team from CCHS:

Thomas Stone
Patrick Gerdes
Tyler Jacobs
Jared Melton
Read more from:
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: