Cannon Courier Hall of Fame tonight

Five members of Cannon County’s sports landscape will be inducted into the Cannon County Sports Hall of Fame during the annual Cannon Courier Hall of Fame and All-Sports Banquet at Cannon County High School Thursday at 6 p.m.

Helen (Hayes) Davenport, Tom Dillard, Rick Insell, Mike Mayfield, Ronnie Smith and Teddy Taylor will be enshrined and join the induction class from last year.

“This is another outstanding class of Hall of Famers and the Hall of Fame Committee is to be commended for the job they have done,” said Cannon Courier Publisher William R. (Ron) Fryar said. “The individuals represent a great part of Cannon County’s rich sports history and it is going to be another great night recognizing them.”

In addition to the Hall of Fame induction, Players of the Year in each of Cannon County’s TSSAA-sponsored sports will be named at this banquet.

Kermit Davis, head men's basketball coach at MTSU, is guest speaker. The event is sold out.