All-District | CCHS, basketball, All-District
By TONY STINNETT/ Courier Sports Editor

Cannon County’s girls basketball team spent the regular season dominating District 8-AA.

Members of the squad dominated the All District 8-AA teams, as well.

Four Lionettes landed on all district teams and two players and Head Coach Michael Dodgen earned specialty awards. Three Lions also earned All-District 8-AA accolades following strong regular-season performances.

Abbey Sissom became the first Lionette to be named District Player of the Year since former Cannon County standout Beth Stewart-Stark earned the honor in 1992. Sissom leads the Lionettes in scoring (22 ppg) and assists.

Ironically, Stewart-Stark is Sissom’s AAU coach.

Additionally, senior Jordan Hollis was named Defensive Player of the Year and earned a spot on the All-District 8-AA third team. Dodgen was voted Coach of the Year for the second time in four seasons. Senior sharpshooter Abby Jakes was voted to the All-District 8-AA team  Jakes is the Lionettes’ second-leading scorer and burst back onto the scene after missing the end of her sophomore campaign and all of her junior season.

Cory Henley earned second-team honors, Jarrett Melton was named to third team and Tanner Larson was named to the All-Defensive team.

Kellie Davis was voted to the all-freshman team and Ashley Basham was named honorable mention.